The Elvie L. Smith Scholarship

The Elvie L. Smith Scholarship is awarded in recognition and honour of the outstanding and unique contributions made by Elvie L. Smith to the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute and more generally to Canada’s aerospace industry. A long-time Fellow of the Institute, Mr. Smith was the recipient of the McCurdy Award, the Institute’s top honour in scientific and engineering areas of activity, and of the Institute’s C.D. Howe Award for outstanding management leadership in aeronautics. Mr. Smith, a former President and Chairman of Pratt & Whitney Canada, provided lasting benefits to Canadian aviation through his vision, dedication and leadership in the design, development and manufacture of gas turbine engines in both the technical and managerial areas.

In recognition of these contributions, the Elvie L. Smith Scholarship is awarded annually to a student who is following a post-secondary degree or diploma course recognized by the Institute.

To be eligible for the Elvie L. Smith Scholarship, the nominee must be in the last year of undergraduate studies in the year he or she receives the scholarship, be a Canadian citizen, and be a student member in good standing of CASI.

The Award has a monetary value of $5,000.00 as determined by Pratt & Whitney Canada, sponsor of the Scholarship.

Scholarship News – Looking for students for the 2019 Scholarships!

Eligibility Criteria

General – Nominee must be a Canadian citizen and a student member in good standing of CASI.

Student must be entering the last year of undergraduate studies in the year the student receives the scholarship.

Nomination Procedure

The student should provide a short outline of his or her activities and accomplishments in each of three areas: technical achievement, leadership and involvement in student affairs, and communication and organizational skills. A statement about the goals the student has set for him(her)self should be included. Also required are three supporting narratives from faculty or community leaders, which should emphasize the student’s achievements.


2018 Winner – Sandro Papais – McGill University

2017 Winner – Jeremy Wang – University of Toronto

2016 Winner – Brittney Cooper – York University