Team registration deadline is October 27, 2017


 CASI is committed to serving Junior members by offering events and activities that are enjoyable, educational and worthwhile. The CASI Free Flight Competition began in 1994 and is offered to university undergraduate and community college students.

The competition consists of designing, building and launching, by means of a tow line, an unpowered aircraft with a two meter wingspan and an empty weight of 1200 grams. Teams are also required to submit a detailed report describing the aircraft in terms of its aerodynamics, overall design, engineering challenges and materials used.

The 2018 competition will take place May 25-27 in Gananoque, Ontario

Proud sponsor:

Carleton plane_0588

The deadline to register your team is October 27, 2017. Please consult the CASI Free Flight rules document for other important information and deadlines.

Rules & regulations CASI Free Flight Rules – 2018
Registration form word file 2018 Free Flight Registration Form
Proposed schedule of activities Proposed schedule of Activities 2018

Send your registration form to

Download a pdf of the Free_Flight_2018_poster for printing

or copy the image below and share to social media



CASI FREE FLIGHT 2018 – May 25-27 in Gananoque, ON. Team registration deadline is October 27, 2017

Watch videos of past competitions

Loop the Loop





 Pictures from the last competition in 2014

1st Place Winners Carleton_0594

1st place Carleton University
2nd place  University of Manitoba
3rd place  Team #1 Ryerson University
Honourable Mention  Team #2 Ryerson University

Ryerson-skydivers Devin & Gabriel_0590


Ryerson team members, Devin Marcelos and Gabriel Campos went skydiving after the 2014 competition





CASI Free Flight Competitions takes place in beautiful Gananoque, Ontario.


Canadian academic institutions that have participated in past competitions

University of Alberta
Carleton University
Concordia University
Lakehead University
Université Laval
University of Manitoba*
McGill University
Queen’s University
Royal Military College
Ryerson University
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology*
University of Toronto
University of Victoria
University of Waterloo

* 4 time winners